I never had an intention to write a book review. Until I read Geddy’s Moon. Granted, it is not in my specific genre but that is completely irrelevant in this case. As a soon- to-be self-published indie author, I’ve come to the conclusion that writing a book review for stories that deeply move me will be in order. And most importantly, indie authors MUST support each other. Writing reviews and Word-of-Mouth is our livelihood.

Geddy's Moon

Back in December of last year, I connected with John through Twitter. I read the prologue and the first chapter of Geddy’s Moon which was a free sneak peek at the time. The prologue alone was more than enough to pull me in, give me chills and go right into the first chapter. To make a long story short, it was Christmas and I got distracted by my own stuff and never bought the book in full to finish it.

moon

A week ago John promoted the book on Amazon as a freebie for 3 days. I was all over that. When it was free at the stroke of midnight, I grabbed it on my Kindle app and started reading….and I didn’t stop. I’m sort of a slow reader. I like to read over things a time or two, digest it, feel it, be in it. I’ve seen so many people pick up a book and flip through in 2 hours and they’re done!!! Never understood that. I like to take my time and savor every morsel like a chocolate chip cookie.

under bridge

I held my phone and read it while switching the laundry. I gripped my gosh darn phone and read it while cleaning the kitchen, pulling cookies out of the oven, sitting on the porcelain express, and at times I found myself pacing the floor, with phont in hand, because I just couldn’t bring myself to sit down and relax. Geddy’s Moon is that good.

moat

A few chapters pumped me so full of energy I had to stop and find a treadmill. One chapter broke my heart and made me cry. My eyes were wide open throughout the entire book. I was in a constant state of “OH…MY…GOSH.”

tree shadow

Geddy’s Moon is a horror or a paranormal thriller, if you will. It’s by no means a gore/slasher/take-you-to-the-depths-of-Hell type book. In many ways I find it similar to such moving stories like Poltergeist (my favorite horror film), IT and The Sixth Sense; where it’s not just about the scare factor or the underlying ancient mystery of the plot. It’s about the family, the friends, the richness of each character and what they must endure and overcome. It’s about the fight between good and evil. It’s about how the bad guy can only push the good guy so far. And ultimately, it’s about how power, domination, revenge and cold-blooded needless murder is just flat out not cool.

tree decay

By the 3rd day I was finished. Regrettably. I didn’t want it to end. There was so much more story to be told and frankly, I believe the author did that on purpose. For the following few days I was in a book coma and questions kept popping in my head like, “Wait, what about that one thing?!” and “How did that happen?” and “What’s gonna happen if so and so does that?!

So… Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you one of the best new authors of 2013. Immerse youself in the mysterious splendor as Geddy’s Moon effortlessly adds itself to literature’s beloved American novels, bypassing today’s pop culture mediocrity of Stephanie Meyer and E.L. James. John Mulhall joins the ranks of great storytellers such as Stephen King, Neil Gaiman and yes, I’m going to say it, Steven Spielberg.

A good story is more than just a great plot with unpredictable twists and turns. A good story will bring you into each page and force you to care about the characters in such a way that makes you want to reach in and hug them or shout at them in anger. A good story makes you want to linger on each sentence, each paragraph, leaving you apprehensive about turning the next page. A good story not only keeps you on the edge of your seat at times and neglecting your life, but it also conjures up feelings in such a way where you must pause and stare out the window in contemplation. A good story leaves you in a trance for days as if all those written experiences just happened to you. For the mind can’t distinguish what is reality and what is imagined. The mind only processes the images you give it. Therefore making the emotional reactions very real.

And that is what John Mulhall does in his breathtaking debut novel. You will be there at the side of each character – good and evil. You will feel the pull of the moon and all it’s power. And you will be there in the audience, shoving popcorn in your mouth… entranced by this timeless adventure when it is portrayed on the silver screen.

John Mulhall

(Nature photos by Gerry Fig)

 

